ISFAP Bursary South Africa 2022




The Ikusasa Student Financial Aid Programme (ISFAP) was formed with the aim of financially assisting poor and middle income university students to afford their tertiary fees.

Contributions are received from donors witin the private and public sector – Woolworths, Liberty, Coronation, Discovery, Hollard, Sanlam, Sasol, Sappi, Mondi, Nedbank, Standard Bank and Volkswagen to name a few.


The ISFAP will be awarding bursaries within the following fields of study at the following participating Universities:
University of Johannesburg:
  • Accounting CA-stream (BBAcc)
  • Accounting (BCom)
  • Architecture (Bachelor degree)
  • Biomedical Technology (National Diploma)
  • Computer Science and Informatics (BSc)
  • Construction Management (BSc)
  • Design (Communication Design) (BA)
  • Electrical Engineering (BEng/ BEng Tech)
  • Electronic Engineering (BEng)
  • Extraction Metallurgy (BEng Tech)
  • Logistics Management (BCom)
  • Mathematical Sciences (BSc)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BEng/ BEng Tech)
  • Mine Surveying (Bachelor degree)
  • Mining Engineering (BEng Tech)
  • Physical Metallurgy (BEng Tech)
  • Retail Business Management (Adv Diploma)
  • Retailing (National Diploma)
  • Urban and Regional planning (Bachelor degree)
University of the Witwatersrand:
  • Actuarial Science (BSc)
  • Aeronautical Engineering (BSc (Eng))
  • Chemical Engineering (BSc (Eng))
  • Computer Science (BSc)
  • Civil Engineering (BSc (Eng))
  • Economic Science (Bachelors degree)
  • Electrical Engineering (BSc (Eng))
  • Commerce (BCom)
  • Mathematics of Finance (BSc)
  • Mathematical Sciences (BSc)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BSc (Eng))
  • Medicine (MBBCh)
  • Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE) (BCom)
  • Speech-Language Pathology (B Speech)
University of Pretoria:
  • Accounting Sciences (BCom)
  • Actuarial and Financial Mathematics (BSc)
  • Business Management (BCom)
  • Chemical Engineering (BEng)
  • Civil Engineering (BEng)
  • Computer Engineering (BEng)
  • Electrical Engineering (BEng)
  • Electronic Engineering (BEng)
  • Industrial Engineering (BEng)
  • Mathematical Sciences (BSc Extended programme)
  • Mathematical Statistics (BSc)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BEng)
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBChB)
  • Metallurgical Engineering (BEng)
  • Mining Engineering (BEng)
  • Nursing Science (B Nur)
  • Quantity Surveying (BSc)
  • Supply Chain Management (BCom)
  • Town and regional planning (Bachelors degree)
University of Cape Town:
  • Actuarial Science (BBusSc)
  • Chemical Engineering (BSc)
  • Computer Engineering (BSc)
  • Computer Science (BSc)
  • Construction Studies (BSc)
  • Civil Engineering (BSc)
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering (BSc Eng)
  • Electrical Engineering (BSc Eng)
  • Environmental & Geographical Science (BSc)
  • Financial Accounting: Chartered Accountant (BCom)
  • Geology (BSc)
  • Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering (BSc)
  • Mechatronics (BSc Eng)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BSc)
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBChB)
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physiotherapy (BSc)
  • Property Studies (BSc)
  • Social Work (Bachelors degree)
University of the Free State:
  • Accounting (Bachelors degree)
  • Physics and Engineering subjects (BSc)
Stellenbosch University:
  • Accounting (BAcc)
  • Chemical Engineering (BEng)
  • Civil Engineering (BEng)
  • Earth Science (BSc)
  • Electrical Engineering (BEng)
  • Electronic Engineering (BEng)
  • Food Science (BSc)
  • Industrial Engineering (BEng)
  • Law (BaccLLB)
  • Management Sciences with focal area Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management (BCom)
  • Management Sciences with focal area Logistics Management (BCom)
  • Management Sciences with focal area Marketing Management (BCom)
  • Management Sciences with focal area Quantitative Management (BCom)
  • Mathematics with focal area Operations Research (BCom)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BEng)
  • Mechatronic Engineering (BEng)
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBChB)
  • Medicine Extended Degree Programme (EDP) (MBChB)
University of KwaZulu-Natal:
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBChB)
  • Nursing Science (B Nur)
  • Occupational Therapy (Bachelor degree)
  • Pharmacy (Bachelor degree)
  • Physiotherapy (Bachelor degree)
Walter Sisulu University:
  • Accounting (Bachelors degree)
  • Biological Sciences (BSc)
  • Chemistry (BSc)
  • Environmental Sciences (BSc)
  • Medical Sciences (Bachelors degree)
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBChB)
  • Physics with Chemistry (BSc)
  • Statistics (BSc)
University of Venda:
  • Accounting Sciences (BCom)
  • Economics (BCom)
  • Language Practice (BA)
  • Social Work (BA)
Nelson Mandela University:
  • Accounting Science (Computer Science & Information Systems) (BCom)
  • Civil Engineering (BEngTech)
  • Construction Management (BSc)
  • Electrical Engineering (BEngTech)
  • Industrial Engineering (BEngTech)
  • Information Technology (Bachelors degree)
  • Marine Engineering (BEngTech)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BEngTech)
  • Mechatronics (BEng)
  • Quantity Surveying (BSc)
North West University:
  • Chemical Engineering (BEng)
  • Chemical Engineering with Minerals Processing (BEng)
  • Computer Engineering (BEng)
  • Electronic Engineering (BEng)
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering (BEng)
  • Electro-Mechanical Engineering (BEng)
  • Industrial Engineering (BEng)
  • Mechanical Engineering Engineering (BEng)
University of Limpopo:
  • Accounting (Bachelors degree)
Central University of Technology:
  • Mechanical Engineering (BEngTech)
Tshwane University of Technology:
  • Medical Orthotics and Prosthetics (National Diploma)
  • Nursing Science (BTech)
  • Mechatronic Engineering (BEngTech)
Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University:
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBChB)
  • Medicine and Surgery Extended Curriculum Programme (MBChB)
  • Pharmacy (B Pharm)
  • Physiotherapy (BSc)


Bursaries will cover the following expense: tuition fees, study materials, accommodation, meals and a cash allowance. Students will also receive the following support: social support, life skills training, academic support (including extended programmes; academic development and tutorials), mentoring for the first year, medical support, tracking of academic performance via the online student platform and access to dedicated programme managers.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):
  • South African citizen
  • Completed Matric
  • Good academic record
  • Have been accepted to studying at one of the aforementioned tertiary institutes
  • Have been accepted to studying towards one of the aforementioned qualifications (1st year undergraduate studies only)
  • Will be starting your first degree in 2021
  • Family household income is not more than R600 000 per annum


Applications must be done online at:

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):


31 October 2022.
(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact ISFAP directly:
Tel: 087 805 8500
Email: / /
Please be sure to read the FAQ’s before making any queries: